I have arrived!

I’m here.

It’s hard to believe that I have lived in Toronto for a week already, but here I am, watching the clouds turn purple through my window.  The city is so glittery, I can’t get over it.

to3.jpg
this picture is blurry for artistic reasons and not at all because I am a terrible photographer/was in a car

To call the days leading up to my move stressful would be somewhat of an understatement.  I was writing papers, studying for exams, and attempting to pack my entire life up all at once, and I was starting to get nervous.  How was I going to survive the big city?  How would I handle being so far away from my family, from my friends, from the ocean? Then, right after I wrote my last exam, I managed to dump a cup of tea on my new laptop.

COOL.

Needless to say I was having a bit of a freak out.

But then next thing I knew it was 4am on Monday morning and I was crying at the airport and then I was sitting on a plane and then, finally, I was unpacking my things in the spare room of my uncle’s apartment.

Now I’m looking out the window at the CN tower, all lit up and beautiful, and I just keep thinking… I’m here.
I’m here and this is happening.
I’m here and I’m staying here, and this is exactly the fresh start I’ve always dreamt of.

The last week was spent working (I already have a job, believe it or not), drinking coffee, visiting family, and eating way too much – all you can eat sushi is not a thing back home.  That being said, I’m pretty ready to start exploring, and I happen to have tomorrow off!  Maybe I’ll finally manage to figure out the subway.

And hey, even if I don’t, there’s always tomorrow.
It’s not like I’m going anywhere.

3 thoughts on “I have arrived!

  1. I am so happy for you. In every part of this amazing adventure called your life see only how far you have come and you will be wowed over and over. Big hug from me in NZ.

Leave a Reply

